Agent License Information

Real Estate Agent Information
Broker/Associate Broker License
  • Age Requirement
    • An individual must be at least 21 to be licensed as a broker or associate broker. Applicants may take the broker's examination at age 20, but cannot activate the license until they are 21.
  • Education Requirements
    • Each applicant for the broker’s examination must complete the 60 hour pre-licensing broker’s course approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
  • Experience Requirements
    • The law requires three years of active licensure in Georgia or in another state before an applicant may qualify for a broker's license. To obtain approval of out-of-state experience, the applicant must secure a certified copy of his or her license history and education in other states from those states' licensing agencies and submit this with his or her application for licensure before taking the examination. The certified copy or copies of the license history must not be more than one year old at the time of application.
  • Examination Requirements
    • The Georgia Real Estate Broker examinations are administered via computer by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) at testing centers throughout the state of Georgia.
    • AMP must request, and have obtained from the Commission, verification of three years of active salesperson experience obtained in Georgia before the broker license can be issued. Broker Applicants need to contact AMP at 1-800-345-6559 to schedule the exam. The experience request must be made to the Commission by AMP, not the broker applicant. Do not call the Commission to have experience verified for AMP.
  • Fees
    • Any person making application for a broker's license must pay an application fee.
    • In addition, there is a fee to take your examination through AMP.

Salesperson License
  • Education Requirements
    • Each applicant for a salesperson’s license must complete a 75-hour pre-licensing salesperson's course approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission; OR
    • The applicant must complete 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours in real estate courses at an accredited college or university (usually only real estate department or law school courses will meet this qualification). College credits to meet this education requirement must meet normal degree requirements. Special short courses or adult education courses will not meet the education requirement unless the college or university gives full academic credit for the course or the course is a Commission approved course.
  • Post-license Education Requirements
    • Salespersons must take a 25 hour Salespersons post-license course in their first year of licensure. The course taken must be one specifically approved by the Commission. Failure to complete a post-license course during the first year of being licensed will cause the license to lapse.
  • Experience Requirements
    • There are no experience requirements for a salesperson's license.
  • Examination Requirements
    • The Georgia Real Estate Salesperson examination is administered via computer by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) at testing centers throughout the state of Georgia.
  • Fees
    • Any person making application for a salesperson’s license must pay an application fee.
    • In addition, there is a fee to take your examination through AMP.